Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Zeitronix ZT-3 wideband

  1. #1
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126

    Zeitronix ZT-3 wideband

    I finally ordered my wideband yesterday(Friday). I decided to go with Zeitronix ZT-3. $280 shipped!! It is just for the afr. I thought about getting the ZT-2 which has a lot more read-outs (egt, rpm, tps, boost, a/f, etc.) But I really didn't want to spend $420 for a bunch of read-outs that I don't really need. It should be here Thursday. So HOPEFULLY I can install it after work on Thursday and MAYBE tinker with dsmLink at the track on Friday. The only thing that might slow me down is having to weld in a bung to my downpipe. So we will see.

  2. #2
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    I finally got sometime yesterday to run the main w/b cord through the firewall. I had to find an open area on the firewall to drill through without hitting any lines or hoses. It was a success on my first attempt! It was a pita though. It took me about 1.5hrs.

    I installed my gauge in the dual gauge pod today. I have the gauge pod that straddles the steering wheel column. I have my aftermarket boost gauge next to my stock boost gauge and now I have my w/b gauge on the other side by the stock fuel gauge. This part was very easy. Took me about 15mins.

    All I have left to do is: 1) weld a bung in for my w/b o2 sensor 2) wire in 3 wires to my ecu 3) START TUNING!

  3. #3
    HTown-DSM.com Member Street Racer 91gsxawd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    239
    thats a good wideband...i have a aem uego i got from cornfed..its a good one...wiring is pretty easy..where u gonna weld the bung?

  4. #4
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by 91gsxawd View Post
    wiring is pretty easy..where u gonna weld the bung?
    I called Zeintronix yesterday and they told me at least 16" away from the turbo. So about 6" pass my flex section. Works out pretty good b/c that's right in between my intake manifold and my firewall, which means I can install it at the 12 o'clock position (vertical).

    Im just going to mark the spot on my dp, pull my dp off the car and run it up to a muffler shop and have them weld in the bung. Only thing that sucks is I am working late tomorrow and then I'm going out of town Friday after lunch and won't be back til Sunday evening. So I'll have to finish up the install sometime after work next week.

    It should be pretty easy to wire it up to the ecu b/c it's only 3 wires. I'm wanting to SOLDER the wires to the ecu, that way I don't have to worry about them coming loose.

  5. #5
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    I am torn where to put the w/b sensor. Some people tell me to put it 16" to 20" away from the turbo. Others say it would be fine to just put it in the rear 02 sensor, which is about 3' from my turbo. I know you don't want to put the sensor "too close" to the turbo b/c the sensor will burn out faster than it should. I am just curious where everybody has their w/b sensor? And if they have had any issues with the placement (wrong readings, harder to tune, more accurate readings, etc.)?

    If I place the sensor 16" to 20" from the turbo then I will have to have a bung welded onto the dp ($40ish). I don't want to waste time and money on going to a muffler shop to have a bung welded in if it's not necessary. Yet, I don't mind going the extra step on doing it right! What are yall's thoughts?
    Last edited by PhatEclipseTtu3; 09-23-2012 at 05:40 PM. Reason: misspelling

  6. #6
    502hp Super Saiyan Post Whore Tx97gsx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Age
    37
    Posts
    2,473
    I have mine right before the flex section on the downpipe.

  7. #7
    Am I there yet??? Post Junkie jmarines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,549
    I have mine in the rear o2 location... no issues after 2yrs

  8. #8
    F.I.S.T. Racing I Am Half Human, Half HTown-DSM.com Black Majik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Willowbrook: NW Houston
    Age
    42
    Posts
    9,149
    the rear O2 sensor location is 3 feet from the turbo, no danger of heat. On that exhaust, there isn't a flange between after the flex section and that rear O2 bung hole, correct? That's where I would put it, as I said in that PM.
    ‎"many conservatives are liberals who have been mugged by reality"




  9. #9
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Pictures are way easier to understand.

    Here is a view from the front to the rear. The silver pipe is 19" from the turbo. And this is where Zeintronix said to install the w/b sensor.
    Attachment 5573

    The sensor would be in between the intake manifold and the firewall.
    Attachment 5574

    Here is a view from the rear to the front. The rear o2 sensor is 52" (4' 4") from the turbo.
    Attachment 5575

    Here is where my dp connects to the rest of my exhaust, then my rear 02 sensor.
    Attachment 5576

    So... Where should I install my w/b sensor?
    Where the silver pipe is at? Or where the rear o2 sensor is?

  10. #10
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    I went ahead and just put the w/b sensor in the rear o2 spot. Robin came by and wired it in to my ecu. So now my wideband is up and running. DSCN0931.jpg

  11. #11
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Thanks to the mad scientist, Robin for tuning my car this morning. Today was PERFECT Turbo weather. Cloudy and Cold. I went from 11psi to 18psi. I can tell a BIG difference in performance after Robin tweaked my numbers.

    The only issue we had was that my GReddy Profec B boost controller was acting funny and not really upping the boost. Luckily Robin let me borrow his Hallman manual boost controller and that fixed the problem. So now I'm pushin' 18-18.5psi.

  12. #12
    A Force Fed Product... Speed Demon Evo_This's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South West - Sugarland
    Posts
    931
    Glad to hear you got it going.
    So I'm not the only one having issues getting higher boost with this ebc, hmm...
    And you beat me to the punch with plan B, damn

    Defined by No One
    Contained by Nothing

  13. #13
    14.57@106 I Want To Have HTown-DSM.com's Babies CornFed1320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,778
    i ran EBC's for awhile but after throwing a hallman in the car i wont go back....these BC's are awesome
    92 GSX 11.8@117
    92 GVR4 #925

  14. #14
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by CornFed1320 View Post
    i ran EBC's for awhile but after throwing a hallman in the car i wont go back....these BC's are awesome
    Is it a Hallman: Pro RX Kit = $125 , Pro Kit = $110 , or ES Kit = $80?

  15. #15
    14.57@106 I Want To Have HTown-DSM.com's Babies CornFed1320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Age
    36
    Posts
    6,778
    Aww man i have no clue....i think its the cheaper one
    92 GSX 11.8@117
    92 GVR4 #925

  16. #16
    Am I there yet??? Post Junkie jmarines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,549
    All halman bc are great products... the price difference is just the features that are added on.

  17. #17
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by jmarines View Post
    All halman bc are great products... the price difference is just the features that are added on.
    Just curious... what kind of boost controller are you runnin'? Electronic or Manual? and Brand?

  18. #18
    Am I there yet??? Post Junkie jmarines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,549
    Quote Originally Posted by PhatEclipseTtu3 View Post
    Just curious... what kind of boost controller are you runnin'? Electronic or Manual? and Brand?
    good old hallman MBC. I bought it from Mike .. I say over 2 years ago.. It was when secret service auto had there open house. Its just the regular one. Ive had NO issues with it what so ever.

  19. #19
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by jmarines View Post
    good old hallman MBC. I bought it from Mike .. I say over 2 years ago.. It was when secret service auto had there open house. Its just the regular one. Ive had NO issues with it what so ever.
    Hmmm.... seems like that's the way to go. Cool.

  20. #20
    F.I.S.T. Racing I Am Half Human, Half HTown-DSM.com Black Majik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Willowbrook: NW Houston
    Age
    42
    Posts
    9,149
    Pro kit
    ‎"many conservatives are liberals who have been mugged by reality"




  21. #21
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by Black Majik View Post
    Pro kit
    Just ordered Hallman Pro Kit. $113 shipped.

  22. #22
    Am I there yet??? Post Junkie jmarines's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,549
    Quote Originally Posted by PhatEclipseTtu3 View Post

    Just ordered Hallman Pro Kit. $113 shipped.
    Did u order it from mike?

  23. #23
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by jmarines View Post
    Did u order it from mike?
    no. I wasn't even thinking.

  24. #24
    Big Ballin' Boo Holla Bench Racer PhatEclipseTtu3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Katy
    Age
    34
    Posts
    126
    My new Hallman Pro Kit mbc came in today.

    DSCN0932.jpg
    DSCN0933.jpg
    DSCN0934.jpg
    DSCN0936.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •